Program notes for 2017

Piano Viola



Friday 1 December, 11:00am

Riversdale Estate, Cambridge*

Sunday 3 December, 11:00am

Home Hill Winery, Ranelagh*


* If staying to enjoy the hospitality of these venues please book direct:
Home Hill Winery Restaurant 6264 1200 | Riversdale Estate 6248 5555

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
Piano Sonata in C, K. 545

I Allegro II Andante III Rondo (Allegretto)

This sonata was one of Mozart’s last for piano and was listed by him as having been completed on 26 June 1788 at the same time as the Symphony No 39 in E flat, K. 543. Comprising 3 short movements, he referred to it as ‘a little sonata for beginners’. The apparent simplicity of this delightful work should not be mistaken for superficiality.

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Sonata for viola da gamba and keyboard No 1 in G major, BWV 1027

I Adagio II Allegro ma non tanto III Andante IV Allegro moderato

An arrangement of the Trio Sonata for 2 flutes and basso continuo in G major, BWV 1039, it was written during Bach’s relatively happy period as Kapellmeister at Köthen. He employs the 4-movement structure of the Baroque sonata de chiesa. There is a strong connection between all 4 movements with the final Allegro moderato a formidable demonstration of Bach’s contrapuntal mastery.

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Chromatic Fantasy and Fugue in D minor, BWV 903

While no autograph score survives, the Chromatic Fantasy and Fugue was probably also composed at Köthen between 1717 and 1723. A keyboard masterpiece, it was recognised as such during the composer’s lifetime.

Alexander Glazunov (1865-1936)
Elégie for Viola and Piano in G minor, Op 44

Glazunov combined elements of the Russian nationalist school with a more internationalist European style. He became a pupil and lifelong friend of Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov and was a professor at the St. Petersburg Conservatory for 30 years. He is mainly remembered today for his orchestral and chamber works including symphonies, concertos and ballet music. The Elégie, composed in 1893, is sweet and poignant, the minor key contributing to the sad mood.

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
Sonata for Viola and Piano in F minor, Op 120 No 1

I Allegro appassionato II Andante un poco Adagio III Allegretto grazioso IV Vivace

Brahms always scored magnificently for the viola in his orchestral and chamber music, especially in the string quintets. Designed to be played on either clarinet or viola, the two Op 120 sonatas were composed late in his life. The F minor sonata has an opening movement that is at once sombre but aspiring upwards. The Andante un poco Adagio is dreamy and tender while the third movement combines elements of Austrian Ländler and waltz with a chromatic middle section. The work concludes with an exuberant Vivace.

back to top